Past depression diagnosis

U

Unregistered

I'm a private pilot looking for a third-class medical (I have been flying gliders without a medical for almost 10 years, and now I'm working on a power rating).

Besides past health issues that I don't think will be a problem, I do have a diagnosis of depression from two years ago. Unfortunately, "Anxiety" is also noted (although I disagree with that one and may be able to get a letter from the prescribing family physician). I took citalopram for about a month, then sertraline for 11 months, with excellent results. The depression was mild to begin with, and completely resolved during that time. I did not receive counseling. I had no adverse side-effects from sertraline; the depression was situational (my partner was severely depressed herself for years, and we split up).

I would not want to have a medical denied at this time, but I would like to get the medical for my ASEL. LSA is unattractive to me (want to fly a C172 at least, with some passengers in the back). If these problems are unsurmountable, I'd rather just fly my sailplane.

Can you recommend a good course of action?
In light of the third-class medical reform, would it make sense to wait it out? I can wait for a few months, if that's what it takes.

What will the FAA's disposition be once positive letters from the treating doc are submitted? Is there a way to get my medical from the AME directly?

I would seriously like to avoid a situation where I am forced to do a CogScreen every 6 months and supply annual reports on a transient problem that is resolved. I would obviously like to avoid disqualifying myself for future third-class medical exemptions.

Finally, I would prefer to be upfront about the past problems. I have read Dr. Bruce's advice in this forum, though I must say that the FAA's lack of differentiation between serious threats and resolved minor issues seems to put me between a rock and a hard place.