Passenger lands plane...bad reporting though

I was just about to post the same link. As soon as I saw the picture of the airplane, my first thought was "some idiot is gonna call that a Cessna", and then the very first words of the story (and the caption of the plane) do exactly that.

I was just about to post the same link. As soon as I saw the picture of the airplane, my first thought was "some idiot is gonna call that a Cessna", and then the very first words of the story (and the caption of the plane) do exactly that.

Yep, that's what I was thinking...

Also not a "2-seater plane" . . .

As a former journalist, I am appalled. As always. Nothing new.

"I flew I Cessna 172 four seater before...."

Sounds like our "passenger" was a pilot, or at least had enough flight training to know how to fly and land a plane.

""The small Cessna plane glided over eastern England on Tuesday evening with exactly two people on board.""

Normally there are 2.4 passengers!

With it being dark, I didn't want the lad to start looking around the cockpit and lose control of the aeroplane. So unfortunately, he (did) a blind landing, without any lights in the cockpit. All he had was the glare of the lights of the runway."

Instructors, would you do this? I would think that the last thing I want to do is tell the pilot to ignore the airspeed indicator??

"The problem was that I've never flown that aeroplane. I have flown a Cessna 172 four-seater before, but like all aeroplanes and cars, switches are in a different position," he said.

:mad2:

With it being dark, I didn't want the lad to start looking around the cockpit and lose control of the aeroplane. So unfortunately, he (did) a blind landing, without any lights in the cockpit. All he had was the glare of the lights of the runway."

Instructors, would you do this? I would think that the last thing I want to do is tell the pilot to ignore the airspeed indicator??