Partnership contract

48dodge

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
48dodge
I'm partnering with a good friend on a Cardinal and trying to figure out the best way to do it. Keep in mind I'm a student pilot. We have done several deals with a handshake, but pretty sure that's not the best way to deal with a plane. I have already paid for the hangar for the next year and a small portion of my half of the plane. There are a few things with maintenance he said he would take care of, I'm sure those should be listed. Our goals with the plane are similar. I'm looking to build hours and start on IFR as soon as I'm done with PPL. He said he can step up to another plane when I'm ready and we have similar tastes for the next plane (both want true 4 seater). Should we also go the LLC route?

I'm going the LLC route for various tax and other reasons. In my opinion, I would consult an attorney and YOUR tax advisor.

Call the AOPA Pilot Information Center and have their partnership template sent to you.

It will give you both a starting point for various discussions.

Essentially you're creating a document to establish that covers what is and isn't permitted, what are normal and prohibited actions/operations, and what will happen if things go completely off of the rails, including death of one of the partners.

While a chore to do for two guys who are getting along very well today, it's an invaluable document when the honeymoon is over and it's time for the nasty divorce.

And spend some money on an aviation attorney in your area. This will be money well spent to ensure all parts of the agreement are valid in the state you're based at.

Last edited: