Part 61 hours

FutureFly

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
FutureFly
Given part 61 schools will Only accept so many outside hours from their program. Would it be possible to have an independent CFI with their own plane train you to pass your entire PPL and then have the DPE meet you to get checked off? Or is a school required?

No school is needed. I worked as an independent CFI for several years. Now I am instructing at a Part 61 training facility, and we do not have any limit on outside hours. You can come here with all the requirements, and I will review all the maneuvers to be able to endorse you for the practical exam.

I think you are referring to a Part 141 school. Part 61 training does not come with such restrictions. And yes it can be as simple as finding an instructor, renting or owning an airplane, then when you are ready finding a DPE for a checkride. A school per se is not required.

Yes, it’s possible. May not be possible in your area due to supply of one man shows, but it is possible in some locales. B

Given part 61 schools will Only accept so many outside hours from their program
Since when? I think you’re confusing Part 61 for Part 141.
Would it be possible to have an independent CFI with their own plane train you to pass your entire PPL and then have the DPE meet you to get checked off?
Yes absolutely, that’s very doable and one of the best things about Part 61 instruction.

What advantage is there to Part 141? Other than fewer hours, of course. It looks like it costs a lot more and has little or no flexibility.

I've done all my trainings and ratings at 61 schools. I suppose some might appreciate the apparent structure and more traditional learning environment at a 141

By the way, the nice thing with aviation is everything is spelled out, for private you're going to want 61.103, 61.105, 61.107, and 61.109, that will tell you exactly what you need to earn your private