Part 135 question...

jfrye01

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Jacob Frye
Hello all, haven't posted here for a while, so I apologize in advance for that;) Anyway, I have a question regarding part 135 ops...I am 1/3 owner of a 1967 Cessna 172. I am a private pilot with just under 200 hours. I am currently working on my instrument rating. My dad, not a pilot, asked me if I could deliver parts for his company (oil refining) using the airplane, as they often have small valves/pumps/pressure gauges etc. break...I understand in order to be paid for this, I will need at least a commercial certificate, which I intend to earn after the instrument, but would this also require a part 135 certification? Unfortunately, if it does, that would make the entire proposal obsolete, as the part 135 certification would be cost-prohibitive...If so, are there any "loopholes" that would allow this? Thanks!

Hello all, haven't posted here for a while, so I apologize in advance for that;) Anyway, I have a question regarding part 135 ops...I am 1/3 owner of a 1967 Cessna 172. I am a private pilot with just under 200 hours. I am currently working on my instrument rating. My dad, not a pilot, asked me if I could deliver parts for his company (oil refining) using the airplane, as they often have small valves/pumps/pressure gauges etc. break...I understand in order to be paid for this, I will need at least a commercial certificate, which I intend to earn after the instrument, but would this also require a part 135 certification? Unfortunately, if it does, that would make the entire proposal obsolete, as the part 135 certification would be cost-prohibitive...If so, are there any "loopholes" that would allow this? Thanks!

If you accept compensation, it's Part 135, and no exemptions exist. If you're just doing your dad a favor and not receiving compensation, then its a different story.