Parachute jumper collided with truck on highway

The news said 21 jumpers have died at that jump school since late 1990’s.

Without clicking, is this Lodi?

Just clicked, yup. Everyone knows what’s up, and they are also a VERY busy dropzone, I don’t see the issue.

Does the news make mention of every fat person who died after eating McDonald’s?

BSBD

Last edited:
I don’t follow skydiving statistics, but I’ve lived relatively close to a skydiving school for at least 12 years and I don’t recall hearing about any fatalities. 21 fatal jumps in roughly a decade seems a bit on the high side - no?

I have no knowledge of this place...but I did see the news broadcast...maybe more fake news ?

I don’t follow skydiving statistics, but I’ve lived relatively close to a skydiving school for at least 12 years and I don’t recall hearing about any fatalities. 21 fatal jumps in roughly a decade seems a bit on the high side - no?

Lodi is a great place, inexpensive jump tickets, they turn loads quick, king air, van, twotters, good sized grass landing area.
However they are not a day care, they expect you to be responsible for yourself, great place to jump if you have a good head on your shoulders and a swivel.

If it is, as mentioned, a heavily used drop zone, perhaps with multiple schools and clubs, then perhaps not, given the inherent danger of jumping out of a perfectly good plane.

Something has to be done, they need more regulations and restrictions.
More licensing, more oversight, more badges.
Maybe an FAA-approved instructor watching every jump; one in every plane.
We must not let people partake of fun activities without maximum oppression, these people have no idea of the dangers, and the government must show them, or stop it altogether.
Oh. Wait.

I was always under the impression that the fatality rate for skydiving is like ultra low.