Paper work, or how to make it legal

Tom-D

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
Tom-D
I'm studying the engine up grade STC instructions to put the IO-360-K on a C-170-B.
There seems to be no mention as to how to do the exhaust. There are no prints that I can see.

The holder of the STC is not answering the phone.

The owner wants the Bartone type of exhaust that exits the cowl at the 6:00 position of the fire wall. Those pipes have their own STC but it's applied to the 0-300/C-170.

What paper will make this all legal?

I will talk to FSDO in the AM.

I'm studying the engine up grade STC instructions to put the IO-360-K on a C-170-B.
There seems to be no mention as to how to do the exhaust. There are no prints that I can see.

The holder of the STC is not answering the phone.

The owner wants the Bartone type of exhaust that exits the cowl at the 6:00 position of the fire wall. Those pipes have their own STC but it's applied to the 0-300/C-170.

What paper will make this all legal?

I will talk to FSDO in the AM.

Holder of the STC, says I'm missing some paper.
and the FSDO says do a deviation to the STC. to cover the change on the pipes.

Does the engine upgrade give you more airspeed, or just better take-off and climb? Do you get any useable weight increase with the bigger engine?

Does the engine upgrade give you more airspeed, or just better take-off and climb? Do you get any useable weight increase with the bigger engine?

Speed is a profile drag thing, climb is a power thing, so no added speed to notice, but the climb is awesome, but the 170 is still grossed at 2200#

But with the IO-360 you can exceed the forward CG limit with two up front and low fuel state. Specially when you run a constant speed prop.