Panel upgrade with Dynon HDX And Avidyne 540. Just waiting for the AP certificatation

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Georgeyk17, Aug 2, 2020 at 12:05 PM.

  1. Georgeyk17

    Georgeyk17 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Georgeyk17
    Work w@s done at KRNO and really pleased with the results. 0F1655C9-4844-49FA-BE42-48EB517F6A33.jpeg
     
  2. Peter Anderson

    Peter Anderson Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    NorCal
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SVTPete83
    Looks awesome!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  3. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,376
    Location:
    KLAF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    Nice and clean!!

    182P?

    Not enough dials, makes me nervous, lol!
     
  4. Georgeyk17

    Georgeyk17 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Georgeyk17
    Sorry, Yes 182P, 1978
     
  5. Challenged

    Challenged Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,824
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Challenged
    Nice, you'll enjoy that.
     
  6. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    Looks great Georgey. Glad you posted it. I'm finishing up my 177RG right now and am also putting my Baro/Hdg/Alt Knob Panel and AP Panel (blank for now, like yours) right above the engine controls. My thoughts were that they'd be easily accessible to the hand. Yours is the first I've seen placing them there.

    I've also put in a 540, and a Garmin 225, which I think will push/pull frequencies to/from the HDX. Is your #2 radio a 255, and if so, are you connecting it to the HDX in this manner?
     
  7. EugeneR

    EugeneR Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eugr
    Nice panel! Waiting for my install in the Bonanza later this month. Getting EIS and 3-axis autopilot. Can’t wait to get rid of all that decades old wiring!
     
  8. Georgeyk17

    Georgeyk17 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Georgeyk17
    Yes, the com/nav is all connected to the HDX so it's a simple touch and it's sent to the standby. It's a big learning curve because there's so much but I'm up for the task.
     
  9. Lynn Dixon

    Lynn Dixon Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN.
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CubedRoot
    John, what year is your 177RG? Mine is a 73 and I have the 3/4 width panel. I want to do two displays, but I don't think they'd fit. EVen if I went with a 10" and a 7".
     
  10. Calum Brown

    Calum Brown Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Calum B
    Well that looks like an awesome panel :D
     
  11. Calum Brown

    Calum Brown Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Calum B
    Yes the GNC255 is connected to the HDX as nav/com 2. This pushes GPS position to the GNC255 so it idents the radio and nav frequencies like KRNO TWR etc on the radio display. Dynon for some reason don't let you push frequencies to the No.2 nav/com at the moment, only nav/com 1 (Which is the avidyne IFD) so we're waiting on a software update to let you choose which radio you want the HDX to push a frequency to. it still displays your Nav2 on the HDX HSI though.
     
  12. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    Lynn, I have a 73 too, SN 349. No room for a second screen unfortunately. I'm finishing up the final wiring now, and don't have any pictures of the finished product, but here's what it'll look like:

    Panel - HDX Right.jpg

    The left side of the 10" HDX is centered over the yoke, since I'll just about always be using it as a PFD & MFD. Sliding it to the right like this gives plenty of room on the left for an iPad Mini, to run the IFD100 App, giving in effect, an additional Avidyne unit, or a nice screen for approach plates, etc.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2020 at 6:27 PM
  13. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    Calum, I am connecting my GTR 225 to one of the HDX serial lines, and I know the Dynon can push frequencies to the 225, and display the 225s frequency on the HDX's top line using Dynon's GTR225 protocol, but here's a question for you...

    If I were to connect the GTR 225 to my Avidyne (RS232 "Aviation"), I know the GTR 225 (RS232 "NMEA") would have position information and would label frequencies, show you the nearest etc.. Is there a position sentence in Dynon's GTR225 Protocol stream, or is it only a comm/nav protocol?

     
  14. Calum Brown

    Calum Brown Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Calum B
    Yes the Dynon passes position information to the GTR225 as well in the stream, so the radio would also show the station info.
    PS, I would have another look at the HDX Install manual- I'm not sure if having the D10 in that position is legal, it has to be within a certain viewing range of the pilot as it is the emergency backup. The D10 is not allowed to be outside of 15 degrees from the pilots viewing centreline, it has to be able to be viewed with eye movement only- i.e. you shouldn't have to move your head...
     
  15. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    That's great news about the position info. Thanks.

    I was a bit concerned about that location too, but couldn't find anything in the manual about degrees, etc., so I used the same standard as the GNS430 install, that calls for an annunciator if it is outside of certain angle/distance from yoke center, and this location squeaks by. If it ever becomes a problem or doesn't lend itself to a quick scan or proves difficult to fly the plane using the D10A only, the contingency is to install it where the tach or MP gauge used to be, just below the HDX. If you can point me to that 15 degree reference I'd appreciate it.
     
  16. Calum Brown

    Calum Brown Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Calum B

    Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 09.30.42.png Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 09.30.54.png
     
  17. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    Thanks Calum