Owning your medical - NA version…

Doggtyred

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Dave
Ok gang.. Most who have followed me know I'm an inactive pilot, a career healthcare guy (paramedic, nurse and any day now will be a nurse practitioner) and a pretty regular contributor.

One of the things that is required of me as a nurse in my particular institution is an annual Tuberculin test (aka PPD), a screening test for tuberculosis. They take dead TB proteins, stick it under your skin and if you get a raised bump/rash (of specific minimum size and characteristics) at the site you are considered to have been exposed to TB at some point.

After twenty years of this business , I won the lottery. I had a positive PPD skin test. Could have been exposed at work.. could have been in NP school clinicals.. hell, could have been in public (albeit rare possibility)..,, its spread by close personal contact… not casual fleeting contact…

Now.. I've studied this stuff in the past and taken care of TB patients before and knew I didn't have much to actually worry about. I have a strong immune system. My follow on chest X-ray was negative for any signs of active disease, so I am considered to have LTBI… latent tuberculosis infection. I can go my whole life without ever having a problem, but IF I become immunosuppresed (go on chemo, have major illness, end up on certain medications if I develop rheumatoid arthritis…etc) then it COULD go from a latent to an active infection.