Ownership cost help...

Michael Hall

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Montea6b
Greetings, new member here. Not sure which forum is best for this, but contemplating aircraft ownership and was looking for some inputs on associated maintenance costs I should budget for. I can figure out financing, gas, insurance, and rough cost of annuals, what I am not so sure of is other stuff. Like oil changes, 100 hour inspection, etc.

Of course there is the unanticipated cost of stuff breaking, but what else might I plan for from the preventative side that I may not have considered? Magneto inspection every 500 hours, right? And what might this run?

FYI, considering a four seat, four cylinder, fixed gear, fixed prop to keep it simple. Something probably vintage mid 70s in the $20-50K range with <1500 SMOH. Cherokee, Grumman American, maybe Cessna, although leaning towards a low wing.

A little more about me for the curious, I’m a retired Navy pilot with ATP and MEL, but no SEL. (took checkride while I was active duty and not current in any SE aircraft) I had been out of flying for 12 years until this summer when I started back in a quest to get current again and accept a part time commercial gig that requires SEL. Renting is killing me, but I need to keep flying to get ready for a commercial SEL check ride.

Other reasons to buy: My wife had to give up finishing her PPL when I retired and we moved away from the base flying club, and I have a nephew entering a university flight program this Fall who could probably benefit from a generous uncle to build time next summer. So, buying a plane makes perfect sense, right?! (if you agree can I send you my wife’s email so you can convince her? :) Despite wanting to fly she remains skeptical of the idea…)

Thanks!

I've got a little experience with an aircraft like that, albeit at an accelerated pace due it being a leaseback aircraft.

https://n194sp.wordpress.com/n194sp/squawks/