owner produced parts

Tom-D

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
Tom-D
and the sale of them..

can I as an owner, produce a part for my aircraft, and approve it under 21.9?

and then remove it and sell it as a "as removed" part?

If you buy used parts, How do you know who made them?

You can commission someone to make a part for you, so this seems OK, but I am no expert. You would probably need to disclose it.

It is possible, with liabilities of course, to make your own, but not to sell. Seems like a dark grey area selling after install... I wouldn't

Here is a pretty good article I found informative with a case study also.
http://mobile.aviationpros.com/article/10387511/owner-produced-parts-how-they-affect-maintenance

and the sale of them..

-VanDy

What is your answer Tom? I'm very interested to hear it

-VanDy

What is your answer Tom? I'm very interested to hear it-VanDy

If I had the answers I'd not be asking.

I know I can build parts for my aircraft, But If I part the 24 out, can I legally sell the parts I built?

No...Can only be used on the owners aircraft. Cannot be sold.

There are numerous sites, but here is one.

http://150cessna.tripod.com/parts.html

IMO, the article you cite is ambiguous regarding whether an owner manufactured part could be sold. My read is that owners can't "produce" parts for others. However, the article doesn't seem to address the issue of selling "used" owner produced parts . EG owner produced parts which came from an aircraft which is being parted out.

No...Can only be used on the owners aircraft. Cannot be sold.

There are numerous sites, but here is one.

http://150cessna.tripod.com/parts.html

Site your reference ?

If you supervised a part being built such as a fuselage panel, then I buy the fuselage from a salvage yard, do i have to remove that panel?

don't think so, but I see no reference to back it up.

If it wasn't Kelly, who cares?

and the sale of them..

Site your reference ?