Overhauled engine

BillG

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Bill Greenberg
As most of you know, on the way back from picking up my 1979 Tiger the #3 cylinder swallowed a valve just southeast of Rochester, NY last month. I ended up in Candanagua, NY (D38). The 1900 hour engine was sent out to be overhauled and is due back in a couple of weeks. In the meantime I figured now is also a good time to upgrade the prop from the stock McCauley to the better Sensenich. I had the prop shipped directly to the mechanic, who I obviously don't really know but I didn't have a lot of choice about where I ended up.

Now for my questions... I guess I need to buy the STC for the prop to be legal? Is the best place Fletcher? Is there anything else I need to know about this?

I've read through the break-in procedures for the new Titan CermiNil cylinders that will be on the engine, but I've never had a new engine before (and I am also very new to Tigers.) Great situation, huh? I'm looking for suggestions on what I should do when I go out to pick up the plane in a few weeks, assuming I can't find a local Grumman guy to go with me.

BillG said:
As most of you know, on the way back from picking up my 1979 Tiger the #3 cylinder swallowed a valve just southeast of Rochester, NY last month. I ended up in Candanagua, NY (D38). The 1900 hour engine was sent out to be overhauled and is due back in a couple of weeks. In the meantime I figured now is also a good time to upgrade the prop from the stock McCauley to the better Sensenich. I had the prop shipped directly to the mechanic, who I obviously don't really know but I didn't have a lot of choice about where I ended up.

Now for my questions... I guess I need to buy the STC for the prop to be legal? Is the best place Fletcher? Is there anything else I need to know about this?