Oshkosh -- the Touchstone of our Lives

Jay Honeck

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Jay Honeck
I was a young man when I first attended Oshkosh, 32 years ago. I rode in on a motorcycle, my favorite gal on the back -- the same gal I'm with today, BTW -- and marveled at the airplanes and the controlled chaos.

I wasn't a pilot -- I couldn't even dream of flying, yet -- but I was a student of aviation history, and I was seeing planes FLYING that I had only read about in books. And I was surrounded by my heroes from WWII. Paul Tibbets, Pappy Boyington, Jimmy Doolittle -- they were all THERE. I was instantly enthralled, and although I could only afford to go on the field for a single day, I stayed in OSH for several days and watched from the opposite side of the field.

It opened a longing in me that I couldn't understand, or even describe. But then, it was over, and it was back to real life.

A year passed, and we were there again. This time, we were camped in a friend's back yard, driving our '82 Mazda GLC. Again, it was aviation heaven, and -- although I didn't know it at the time -- deep hooks were being planted. (And, BTW, we saw a new network called "Music Television", or "MTV", for the first time at our friend's house that year. It was 1984.)

In 1990 our son was born, in August. Mary's doctor disallowed her from attending Oshkosh that year, and she was SO angry! But I went, by myself, and called her (from a pay phone!) every hour, to make sure she wasn't in labor...

Fast forward five years. Our daughter has joined us, and we are now attending annually in our pop-up camper, parking at Mary's aunt's house in Winneconne, just North of OSH. We drive in to the show every day, for several days, and enjoy the show immensely. I am still not a pilot, still unable to assemble the various puzzle parts, but I now have two little kids, a mortgage, a career.

And flying is for rich people...