OSH - T-6 goes into Lake Winnebago Saturday 7/29 morning

There was nothing wrong with that landing in the video. T-6 on pavement in Oshkosh, that’s a keeper.

Little over a week before this, I was visiting my son and he told me the day I was leaving that he was going to be doing spin recovery in the T6A that morning (he's an IP for that aircraft, but this sortie was without a student and for his own proficiency). Even as I'm just getting started in a Piper, I asked my CFI to put us into one so I could experience it. Juan Browne stated in his video that spin training is no longer taught in civilian flight training, which makes no sense to me. I damn sure want to know how to avoid it- and what to do to in the event I fail...

I looked up his flight profile later that day

I don't remember it been a required item for PPL, at least in the time I've been in the flying business. Which admittedly isn't long compared to some of the dinosaurs on here, maybe they can expand on when the FAA required spin training to attain a PPL. The spin requirement used to be a niche item for CFI initial (I did it in a clapped out 152 the flight school pretty much dedicated to the task). I guess that is what they're talking about when they say it isn't "taught/required anymore".