OSA questions

jedi93

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
TS
I know there are lots of talk about OSA on here, but wanting to ask this. If diagnosed with OSA as a student pilot, are you automatically grounded? If so, should I go ahead and start the process of getting all documents in order and planning a a visit to the AME even though my medical is not up for another 4.5 years? Or, an I able to keep flying since I’m just a student in PPL training and have all documentation ready for the next medical? As of now I haven’t been diagnosed, but I have an appt next week and fear the worse.

I'm not sure if you are immediately grounded with an OSA diagnosis. My guess is probably yes, at least until you are under treatment for it. But if you're not looking at aviation as a career then consider BasicMed. You can continue flight training, get your PPL and continue flying with BasicMed. All you would need to do is get the physical and pass the online training. This will at least allow you to continue training while you get your medical sorted out.

Per FAR 61.53, you may not act as PIC if you're aware you have a disqualifying condition. OSA is special-issuance territory, meaning it's a disqualifying condition pending the FAA's decision. So if you get diagnosed and put on a CPAP, etc, you'll need to get all the documentation in order and see an AME. All in all it's not a big deal from what I've read, plenty of pilots have no issues retaining their medical with properly treated and documented OSA. The AME can still issue your cert in-office, and get all the required documentation packed up and sent out. You'll still have a valid medical while you wait for the SI to come through.