Orthostatic Hypotension

T

TooHonest

Hi everyone, I'm a student pilot and am almost ready for my private pilot checkride. I have a third class medical. Almost four months ago I had what I believe was an instance of orthostatic hypotension which caused me to faint briefly (I was the one who posted about standing up too fast in the shower. Yes, that was a real question, and no, I'm not a troll. I was quite embarrassed about the event and didn't want to tell anyone about it, which is why I posted anonymously on this forum). I don't think there is anything wrong with me and I don't think I have an underlying medical condition because nothing similar has happened since then. But it seems like I will need to report the event the next time I apply for a medical certificate or Basic Med, because all instances of unconsciousness need to be reported. So my question is, when I report it the next time my medical comes up for renewal, is the FAA going to make a big deal out of it? Will they require me to take tests to prove there is nothing wrong with me, tests that may or may not be covered by insurance? When I applied for a medical this last time I needed to get some tests for things that happened more than 10 years ago, and I was surprised how the FAA basically assumed I was sick unless I could prove I was healthy. So I just wonder how they would handle this.

Did you really lose consciousness? Like came to on the floor with no idea how you got there, or just felt lightheaded after getting up to quickly? Did you go to the hospital? How would anyone know?

Did you really lose consciousness? Like came to on the floor with no idea how you got there, or just felt lightheaded after getting up to quickly? Did you go to the hospital? How would anyone know?