opinions on cherokee 140 as primary trainer?

rbridges

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
rbridges
a friend and I are kicking around some ideas. He's a CFII, and we're looking at setting up some flight instruction at the local airport. We were looking for a 152, but I noticed some nicely spec'd cherokees in the same price range. When I trained, it was in a 172 and 180 cherokee, so I have no personal experience with a 152.

I'm looking at cost of ownership and maintenance. The 140 is a little higher IMO but reasonable. I like the idea of double doors, but I'm used to the single side in my mooney. What are the pros and cons of a 140 cherokee as a trainer?

A good Cherokee 140 would make a fine trainer.

a real work horse and very easy to fly.

If I weren't in a co-ownership the Cherokee 140 would be high on my list of "reasonable to own" airplanes for light loads and fun flying. A little doggy up here at altitude but price can't be beat.

I had a 1968 140B as my first airplane, although I learned in C-152's. I found it almost too easy to fly. They are good solid airplanes.

I had a 1974 Cherokee 140 for 18 years (just sold it in August)

I believe it's a fine trainer. Maintenance costs will be comparable to a warrior or Archer. It's quite simple to work on.

The 140 doesn't have much useful load, particularly if it is a later model or has air conditioning (the basic empty weight tended to increase with each model year). Mine had about 700lbs of useful load.

A significant number of 140's have been upgraded to 160hp, which pretty much gives then climb/speed performance and fuel burn of the warrior if you use warrior RPM settings.

With the 150hp (or even 160hp), it's not really suitable for higher elevations. I'm based at KBED with an elevation of about 125' and most of my flying is just around New England, so the 140's service ceiling wasn't a problem.