Opinions on a Bowers Namu 2?

Keane

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ErichKeane
Hi all-

I've been somewhat entertaining the idea of purchasing a 2 seat, cross country plane for myself (or a reasonably quick 4 seater). I already have rental access to a Cessna 150/Cherokee 180, so my buy requirements are that it be significantly better than that in some manner.

Due to the many advantages, I've been seriously considering an already built Experimental. I'd build, however I don't have a place to build, or the experience to do so. I'm an engineer by schooling/trade, so I can at least maintain anything I buy within reason. The FBO mechanic at 7S3 (where I'd have the plane) seems like he would help me with whatever I needed beyond that.

For a while (and still actually) I've been keeping an eye out for an inexpensive Thorp T-18, however there are rarely any for sale, and never any in my area at a price I can 'afford'. I would prefer something local, so that I can take a look at it personally before hand.

Anyway, I recently found this: http://www.barnstormers.com/classified_387846_1975+Bowers-built+NAMU.html on barnstormers. It is about 3-4 hours by car away from me. I spoke with the owner a bit on the phone and might go see it soon.

I realize it doesn't compare well performance wise to the T-18, however it is a good price and has a fun history.

So everyone, talk me into/out of this :D Good idea/bad idea?

About me:
Single, 24, own both cars, reasonably well employed. 50+ hr pilot.

Oak harbor is Tom Downey's (Tom-D) home airport, maybe he knows something about it.