Opinions of a Fisher FP-303?

lancie00

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
lancie00
I found a Fisher FP-303 with a 277 Rotax near me for a good price. I have no experience with these but they sure look fun. Does anyone have any opinions or comments on these? I haven't seen it in person yet but it appears to be in good condition and the current owner still flies it regularly.

Thanks

How much is a good price? I'm curious, because I'm selling a Carlson with HKS 4-stroke for $10,000 right now, which is like a thousand times better airplane that a Fisher 303 with a 277 1-cylinder 2-stroke. Although, you can plausibly claim that the 303 is a Part 103 ultralight, which is a big advantage if you were denied a medical.

How much is a good price? I'm curious, because I'm selling a Carlson with HKS 4-stroke for $10,000 right now, which is like a thousand times better airplane that a Fisher 303 with a 277 1-cylinder 2-stroke. Although, you can plausibly claim that the 303 is a Part 103 ultralight, which is a big advantage if you were denied a medical.
The guy is only asking $2500 for his Fisher. I'm just looking for something I can keep at the farm that's cheaper to fly than the Arrow. I can see where yourSparrow would be a lot nicer, I just don't have the money right now. Thanks

2500 for a Fisher 303 is a good price... the motor is ok, not a ton of power but will pull it around... I like them and would also like to get something like that, or an Airbike, to just kick around the clouds in ...

The guy is only asking $2500 for his Fisher.

Indeed, $2.5k sounds like a great price. You have to be unafraid to deal with the wooden construction: know how to inspect and how to store it so that mold and dry rot do not cause a structural failure. I would not want to deal with a Fisher, Mini-Max, or FlyBaby because I know that I don't have the skills to survive it.