Opinion

Richard

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ack...city life
"Every pilot should have a current copy of the FAR/AIM within easy reach for reference and review."

How much do you agree with that statement? Can you say you comply with that statement?

Richard said:
"Every pilot should have a current copy of the FAR/AIM within easy reach for reference and review."

How much do you agree with that statement? Can you say you comply with that statement?

Yes, although I don't always follow my own advice. I've been flying for 16 years, and occasionally refer to the FAR/AIM when I want to double check my memory on some point. This may be a function of where I do most of my flying, but there are certain recommended procedures I just don't trust myself to remember, and having the FAR/AIM handy gives me the security of being able to look them up if I want to.

I guess this goes along with my general philosophy that you can't be too conscientious. I'm about to get my instrument currency back after almost three years, and will be actually studying the thing again. I remember almost everything, but it seems to me that it's the things you think you remember but don't really that get you into trouble.

As with the kinetic skills of flying, practice makes perfect.

Judy

Richard said:

Agree, yes. Comply, not always.

When flying, no.
At home, we all do - online. And we should all endeavor to refer to it regularily.

Richard:

The 2006 edition is sitting right here in my bookcase, but have to admit, I haven't opened it a lot this year yet.

Dave

Richard said:

I generally don't carry it in the plane or flight bag.

In the plane, if I'm looking up a FAR or even a procedure in the AIM, it's too late. I just don't have the ability to keep the plane level and read the fine print while looking for traffic. I generally fly planes that do not have autopilot.