OpenOffice database question...

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by flyingcheesehead, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,910
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Is it possible to have the database structure and its data separate? I'd like to develop a system to keep track of the loads I haul, customers I've been to, etc. but I'd like to share it with a friend. When I come up with new forms, views, whatever I'd like to be able to share them with him, but obviously he'll have his data and I'll have mine.

    How do I do this?
     
  2. jesse

    jesse Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15,776
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse
    Just write an iPhone app to do it-- Mr. iPhone app developer guy.
     
  3. SkyHog

    SkyHog Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,480
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everything Offends Me
    I know its not the answer you're looking for, but ooo database is more difficult to do this kind of stuff than Access is, and it feels like it was added only to have a way to compete with the whole suite of MS Office.

    Best answer? MySQL, honestly
     
  4. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,910
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    My friend doesn't have an iPhone, and the kind of system I want really doesn't lend itself to use on an iPhone. :no:

    Well... No Access on a Mac (and I hate M$ resource-hogging crap software). Oh, and I have a Mac and my friend has a PC. What are the cross-platform options?

    Is splitting the structure and the data even possible using OOo?
     
  5. mikea

    mikea Touchdown! Greaser! Gone West

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16,975
    Location:
    Lake County, IL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iWin
    You can run MySql locally on the Mac.

    Get few dollar a month virtual web host and run it on the web for sharing. Just export/import the tables.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2009
  6. SkyHog

    SkyHog Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,480
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everything Offends Me
    Probably. I have no idea how tho. MySQL is cross platform.
     
  7. CJones

    CJones Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,267
    Location:
    Jawjuh
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    uHaveNoIdea
    Does MySQL require some sort of web hosting software (IIS, Apache, etc.) or does it run natively on any OS?
     
  8. jesse

    jesse Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15,776
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse
    The database itself runs natively on about any OS. But it is just the database. You'll need some kind of front for it to be usable...unless you intend on inserting and viewing/managing all your data with SQL queries.
     
  9. mikea

    mikea Touchdown! Greaser! Gone West

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16,975
    Location:
    Lake County, IL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iWin
    And there are GUI admin tools in the MySQL package and elsewhere that will serve as a easier to use front end for the SQL commands.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jesse

    jesse Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15,776
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse
    Yeah..but if you're using proper database structure -- the raw tables themselves would make a very poor interface for viewing your data. It should all be normalized and using joins and whatnot..you really need another interface.
     
  11. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,910
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    This is starting to sound hard. When the solution to a simple problem is complex, it ceases to be worthwhile.

    I don't want to have to go back to my hard-core geek days just to get a silly little database with maybe 4 tables working and using two different data sets. As in, I want someone else to have already written the GUI, for example, ooo. Is this not possible? :dunno:
     
  12. ReverendSlappy

    ReverendSlappy Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,475
    Location:
    Chicago
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ReverendSlappy
    I think Nick already tossed the "best" option out there: The only "I want to spend 10 minutes developing a simple front-end for my simple DB" app I know of (without looking into it) is Access -- and it probably would take you about 10 minutes. The only technical roadblock there is that I'm not sure if Access files are portable between Mac and Windows.

    But then if Microsoft is a deal-breaker anyway, I suppose that doesn't really matter in the first place.
     
  13. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,910
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    There is no Access on Mac at all. :no:
     
  14. SkyHog

    SkyHog Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,480
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everything Offends Me
    When I get home tonight, I'll much around with ooo database and see if this is possible.

    To make sure I understand, you want to have a dataset that is movable between two computers?
     
  15. ReverendSlappy

    ReverendSlappy Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,475
    Location:
    Chicago
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ReverendSlappy
    Okay, so when I said "the only technical roadblock", maybe I was off by one...

    :D
     
  16. SkyHog

    SkyHog Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,480
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everything Offends Me
    Your answer lies here:
    That is to say - "Disk File Mode", wherever that is, is what you're looking for.
     
  17. Areeda

    Areeda Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Areeda
    I believe you can create your oodb then copy it and delete all the records and give that to your friend.

    Joe
     
  18. TangoWhiskey

    TangoWhiskey Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Midlothian, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    3Green
    That works the first time.

    Kent wants to be able to give his friend a schema and forms update, later, while retaining his friend's data and not giving his friend a copy of his data.
     
  19. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,910
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Bingo! :yes:

    Nick, sounds like you might have it - Thanks!
     
  20. EdFred

    EdFred Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    26,246
    Location:
    Michigan
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ed Frederick
    So bascially again....macs suck.
     
  21. SkyHog

    SkyHog Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,480
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everything Offends Me
    Well, I might, but holy crap, I can't find that anywhere. My spidey sense tells me its called something else with the newer versions of OOo.
     
  22. JeffDG

    JeffDG Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,510
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JeffDG
    You owe me a new keyboard with that little cartoon...coffee out the nose is very uncomfortable.
     
  23. JeffDG

    JeffDG Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17,510
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JeffDG
    OK...to address this issue,

    Why not keep the data in MySQL and the forms in OOO?

    Then you simply link in tables from MySQL as an "external" database. Want to give him a new set of forms, just copy a new OOO file, the data's not in there to start with.
     
  24. TangoWhiskey

    TangoWhiskey Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Midlothian, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    3Green
    Exactly; that's what Nick's "quoted website" above said in a very geekish, convoluted way. They could have condensed most all of that down to your beautifully succinct sentence.
     
  25. silver-eagle

    silver-eagle En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ~John
    But it's computer. If it weren't GEEK, everyone could do it.
     
  26. jesse

    jesse Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15,776
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse
    As much as I love MySQL -- that'd be over-kill for this. I'd stick with their HQSQLdb -- to avoid having to run an entire service dedicated to the database on your system.
     
  27. gprellwitz

    gprellwitz Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    12,994
    Location:
    Romeoville, IL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Grant Prellwitz
    What can't you find?

    Haven't done anything with HSQLDB or OpenOffice Base, but looking at hsqldb.org and openoffice.org, I believe that HSQLDB 1.8.0 has been included with OpenOffice 2.0 through 3.1.

    Documentation at http://documentation.openoffice.org/manuals/userguide3/0108GS3-GettingStartedWithBase.pdf

    They also refer to the documentation at hsqldb.org.

    Note this from the OpenOffice manual:
    Here's the documentation:
    http://hsqldb.org/doc/guide/apd.html
    (from here: http://hsqldb.org/web/hsqlDocsFrame.html)