and knowledge to do so, and there must be some objective method of
measuring that information transfer and retention. The FAA has been
reviewing indicators that suggest that the processes currently in place
may lack sufficient effectiveness in ensuring that CFIs are being
provided the best information in the most useful manner. This meeting
will elicit input from the community of authorized flight instructor
renewal program operators so that the FAA can better analyze how to
improve the process.

They keep talking about the accident rate and how things aren't changing it. I've been doing FAASTeam stuff for two years and what I've seen is that all of the outreach, all of the new technology, only helps people who show up and make the effort.

And I think the accident rate (at least the pilot error portion of it) is pretty much among the folks who never show up for the safety meetings, or try and get a good flight review, or otherwise don't make safety part of their pilot culture.

And it's not something that technology will change - or that flight instructors may be able to change, since folks never go see the instructors in the first place.

I think that flight instructors CAN be effective in instilling the proper attitude in their students in primary training and when they get them for other ratings or reviews, and that maybe they (soon to be we - checkride in January) need to perhaps be more outspoken when we see students with poor attitudes that could compromise safety.

At the end of the day, I guess I'm not sure that efforts like this will reduce the accident rate further quickly, though it may make a difference at the same slow generational rate we've seen with things like racism or smoking or...