"Not Allowed" Medication

S

spinnergal

In the springtime I suffer from some minor allergies. Years ago I found that during the worst times, taking ONE Benadryl tablet before I go to bed would help with the headaches, runny nose and itchy, red eyes, and allow me to sleep comfortably during the night. Last spring, however, I did not use Benadryl because it is a "Not Allowed Medication" (but ended up wishing I had some nights!).

My question is what exactly does not allowed mean: NEVER allowed, NOT allowed while flying, or NOT allowed within a certain time frame?

I am new in the aviation world and hopefully plan to spend many more springtimes flying. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks!

spinnergal said:
In the springtime I suffer from some minor allergies. Years ago I found that during the worst times, taking ONE Benadryl tablet before I go to bed would help with the headaches, runny nose and itchy, red eyes, and allow me to sleep comfortably during the night. Last spring, however, I did not use Benadryl because it is a "Not Allowed Medication" (but ended up wishing I had some nights!).

My question is what exactly does not allowed mean: NEVER allowed, NOT allowed while flying, or NOT allowed within a certain time frame?

I am new in the aviation world and hopefully plan to spend many more springtimes flying. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks!

I think the standard precaution is to allow 3-4 times the dosing interval before flying. IOW if it says to take one tablet every 4 hours, you should be OK 12-16 hours after your last dose. That's assuming that your body gets rid of about half the dose in the dosing interval and I assume this varies with different medicines and people so I wouldn't take it as gospel.