NorCal XC flight advice

jcepiano

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
jcepiano
Hey folks!

I hope those Northern California flyers out there can offer some advice. I'm trying to decide on a XC route and could use some input.

I'm a 46 hour student finishing up the solo hour requirement for the PPL Check ride. Flying out of CCR and thinking of the following airports:

- Healdsburg (HES)
- Lampson (1O2)
- Westover Amador Co. (JAQ)
- Calaveras Co. (CPU)

I was particularly interested in Lampson at Clear Lake, but I worry that the mountain range that I'd need to cross may add challenges that I shouldn't mess with at this stage of my training.

I assume the airports to the NW would make for a more visually interesting ride, but the airports to the east could have their own positives, especially that they'll be on the quiet side.

Thanks for your input!!

I did mine out of Ccr to Red Bluff to O15 Turlock. Mts around Clear Lake not any big deal. Have fun.

Hey folks!
)
- Lampson (1O2)

Flying out of TCY, i'd like to head up to Lampson, too. In the past, i have landed at Clear Lake''s now closed Pearce field. I wouldn't advise flying direct to 1o2 though because of the way lampson is situated. i plan on flying around the volcano and then turn left to the field.

yes, it gets bumpy during the mountainous part, but the view is nice.

If you're doing this during the heat wave, go to Healdsburg.

Better yet, Watsonville or Monterey.

All your choices except Healdsburg are in foothills. That often means weird winds, especially in the afternoon. None are particularly bad, but student pilot solo limits might prevent you from landing.