Norcal Approach

Discussion in 'Change to my Frequency...' started by Owen Becker, Nov 14, 2018.

  1. Owen Becker

    Owen Becker Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Owen Becker
    Situation: I'm on Norcal approach and they have already given me a squawk and altimeter setting. I am flying over KCCR where a couple of minutes later another aircraft is also transitioning over KCCR. NorCal gives them a different altimeter setting than what I have.

    Question is since my aircraft and the other aircraft are in the same area, shouldn't we both be using the same altimeter? I know I have been told to use whatever altimeter setting ATC gives me, but wouldn't it be logical to use the same one? Why wouldn't I switch to the other aircraft's altimeter setting?
     
  2. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,254
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    Is it possible that the field changed the altimeter setting they were reporting during the few minutes involved? If so, then you should use the latest setting. If not, an inquiry to ATC would have been in order to clarify which was the correct setting.
     
  3. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8,855
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Might have been destination altimeters. One of you might have been on the way to say OAK and the other to maybe APC. It would be appropriate for you to each have been given the destination altimeters by the time you were in the neighborhood of CCR
     
  4. Ravioli

    Ravioli Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7,863
    Location:
    Somewhere else
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Guest
    Probably depends on how much difference there is between the settings. If it was enough to cause a problem the controller would see your altitude and tell you current setting, or perhaps ask you to say your altitude.
     
    Stan Cooper likes this.
  5. TheGolfPilot

    TheGolfPilot Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    774
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Golfpilot
    I have always viewed the local altimeter from the controller as informational, not necessarily an instruction. It is not a mandatory readback. When going cross country it is really convenient to not have to tune the local weather (or now, press buttons on the gtn) to get the local altimeter setting. When you are about to land, you should never leave the altimeter setting to what the controller told you. Destination weather should be your only source for that. Common sense to people who fly instruments, maybe not as much for vfr only guys.