Non-towered airport, military (Navy) helicopters, me (student fixed wing), traffic pattern question

SaltH2OHokie

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ryan
Yesterday I went to do solo pattern work and found my company in the pattern to be a Navy CH53 doing touch n go's.

He was flying a right pattern, which I understand is the convention/option for a helicopter, but I was worried that trying to mix in with him would be like a big airborne version of "crossfire" that I wasn't prepared to play as a very new solo pilot, plus any wake/rotorwash concerns that may or may not have been present...so I radioed and explained that I was a student pilot that wanted to do pattern work, but would prefer to wait until they were done, so how many more were they planning? They politely asked if 2 more worked for me, which given their size and likely ability to outgun me, I told them "sounds great".

My question is this, an inbound plane for a full stop landing joined the RH pattern with the helicopter...I thought I was supposed to fly a standard pattern...which is it...or is it an either/or thing?

Either way was sort of neat watching them do their thing from 50ft away. That's a big machine.

Understand that the regs just say that the turns in the vicinity of the airport must be done to the left unless indications are given that they should be made to the right. The helicopter is obliged to avoid the "flow" of fixed wing aircraft at the nontowered airport. The right of way rules give no preference to those "in the pattern." The traffic pattern just amounts to a very good "best practice."

Understand the most important rule is to not collide or otherwise do something that will risk such. It matters not who might have the right of way. Aviation doesn't have the nautical principle of a privileged vessel. Everybody is required to take whatever action they need to be safe.