[non-aviation] Reloading data for the .303 Savage

Bob Noel

Touchdown! Greaser!
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Bob Noel
Does anyone have an older reloading manual that includes reloading .303 Savage?

The new Speer Reloading Manual #14 and Lyman Reloading Manual #49 do not include any data on the .303 Savage.

Thanks
Bob

I have the latest "Modern Reloading" by Richard Lee, and it has a section on the 303 Savage. Drop me a PM if I can help.

The 303 British cartridge is bigger than the 303 Savage, e.g., a larger diameter and the rim to neck distance is ~25% longer.

I'm new to reloading, but it seems to me that using a 303 British load could result in too big a load of powder in the .303 Savage. Am I overlooking something?

we were talking about the British 303 loading data

no, we weren't. We were discussing 303 Savage. You are very confused about the subject cartridge. Please stop giving bad information. The info you are giving is for the 300 Savage.

Last edited:
the cartridge is very different, but the loadings are close enough to work. in the lighter bullets. I have the data for both right here and the brit uses about 2 grains less powder than the savage.

By the way, the savage is closer to the 30:06 factory loads than the brit 303.

Why did you post the data for the British if you had the Savage data (post #5)?

Why did you post the data for the British if you had the Savage data (post #5)?

Because I mis-read the first question.

So, I have deleted my previous posts and will let you experts figure it out.

My confusion came because all my re-loading manuals have the data for the savage, but only one has the data for the British 303.

The new 5th edition of the Hornady "Handbook Of Cartridge Reloading" has both also. This book is in most book stores now.

so here is the Savage info

Attachments

• Scan.jpeg
    Scan.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 14
  • Scan 1.jpeg
    Scan 1.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 8
  • Scan 2.jpeg
    Scan 2.jpeg