No competition at GJT

buraian

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Buraian
Several years ago, I was privileged to get to live in Grand Junction, Colorado. While there, I started training for my PPL at Strand Flying School. When the school closed, I followed my CFI to the only remaining school at GJT, Colorado Flight Center. I got as far as my first solo (+ a few more dual hours), then I made a dumb choice and moved back to Dallas.

Long story short, although I found a new instructor at Dallas Executive Airport, some unexpected expenses came up that clipped my wings before I got my license.

But now, I might have a chance to get back to GJ, and I'd like to get back into the air.

Unfortunately, CFC is still the only flight school there. And, of course, the cost has gone up. The cheapest rental is $155/hr wet (although "fuel surcharge may apply) for a Cessna 172S. In fairness, it is a very nice 172. $45/hr for the instructor. So $200 plus tax and a potential fuel surcharge PER HOUR. It's depressing. And there don't even seem to be any flying clubs, so that's not even an option.

GJT is a decent-sized airport with all kinds of traffic. GA, airlines, military. I loved flying there. But it's sad that there's no competition to help keep the cost down. :^(

Those rates are similar for 172s and CFI here in Alabama, and there is competition here. A lot of places are even higher.

Several years ago, I was privileged to get to live in Grand Junction, Colorado. While there, I started training for my PPL at Strand Flying School. When the school closed, I followed my CFI to the only remaining school at GJT, Colorado Flight Center. I got as far as my first solo (+ a few more dual hours), then I made a dumb choice and moved back to Dallas.

Long story short, although I found a new instructor at Dallas Executive Airport, some unexpected expenses came up that clipped my wings before I got my license.