Night Vision Monocular help.

Vance Breese

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Vance Breese
I am not a night flying enthusiast because I can’t see wires if I need to make an emergency landing.

I fly out of the Santa Maria Public Airport (SMX) that is surrounded by fields with wires and fences.

Most of the roads are bordered by wires.

I am also blind in one eye.

As a flight instructor I need to fly night cross countries with clients in experimental gyroplanes.

Some time ago I went flying at night in an open tandem gyroplane with a night vision monocular and I was amazed at all I could see. On a moonless night I could clearly see wires and fences that I might have missed during the day.

As I recall the owner mentioned something about Gen three and an over $3000 price tag.

I see Walmart and Amazon have night vision monocular equipment in the $100 to $1,300 range.

I looked at a piece of equipment a Medivac Helicopter was using at it was over $5,000.

I recently had a primary student that also flies a Black Hawk Helicopter at night with night vision equipment for the Utah National Guard. He flies low and fast at night with his night vision equipment. Because it is military I suspect it is expensive and hard to get. I asked him if we could borrow the equipment for our night cross country and the answer was no.

I don’t know where to start learning about night vision equipment.

I would be grateful for any input on night vision equipment.

Without proper training and maintenance of the equipment you'll be at a high risk of having an accident. NVG's are not something you can use casually. The **** at Walmart is inadequate for flying. If you're serious call these people. They can sell you the equipment and help get you and the aircraft approved for nvg ops. Remember that even flying pt91 the pilot and aircraft have to approved by FAA to use Nvg. Be prepared for sticker shock. The goggles are cheap compared to getting the approval.

http://www.asu-nvg.com