Niagara Falls

Stephan E.

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Stephan E.
Hi

I'm a PPL pilot based in Switzerland and I'll be coming to the States next week to do a 5 day round trip in the Northeast. One leg will take me to the Niagara Falls. I have of course taken a look at the restrictions as set out in 93.71 but since this seems to be quite a congested area (obviously) I would like to ask if there are any recomendations based on your experience which may not be included in the Special Procedures. For instance it says that you must stay over 3500 MSL. From your experience, is it wise to circle at 3500 or would it be more advisable to go to 4000 or something like that? Another issue involves the Canadian border: In order to actually fly over the horseshoe you would have to scratch the Canadian Airspace and I haven't found the respective regulations from Transport Canada yet. Is it worth the hassle to enter the Canadian airspace and to do all the things necessary for an international flight or would you say it's not worth it and just stay in the US-airspace? Any other things to think of (I'm going to avoid the weekend and will be there on a Monday)?.

Thanks for any input and best regards from Switzerland
Stephan

Stephan if you pick up a copy of the AFD for that sector it has procedures stated in the book that you follow. Also if you land at KIAG they have a sheet with overflight instructions they give out. Finally if you are on flight following with Buffalo Approach they can assist as well. First I'd get the AFD and read the applicable section.

Another option is to arrange a lesson with an instructor at KIAG.