Newbie checking in

Jberg440

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Justin
Hey guys! I'm new to the forum and flying so bare with this rookie. I'm a student at U of MN-Crookston for Natural Resources Aviation and I will be going up tomorrow for my first flight with the CFI in a Piper warrior. I'm looking forward to getting to know you guys and lots of advice along the way! _ Justin

Welcome Justin and have a blast with your first flight. That moment of breaking ground is just amazing!

Welcome.
As Adam said that first time taking off is something you will never forget.

Mark B.

Stay away from liquids, especially coffee. Fill your stomach with plenty of liquid absorbing food, bread, crackers, mashed potatoes, whatever, just don't go on an empty stomach. If you find yourself getting a little anxious, don't worry, that will pass for good after just a few flights.

Your going to love flying once you accept it is more about following the rules to the letter, than actually aviating. Cross your tees, dot your I's, take nothing for granted. Do exactly as your instructor tells you. Flying is about the most regimented, rule governed, endeavor you will ever involve yourself with, unless of course you are an engineer or going to work for the government.

Good luck.

John

Last edited:
Welcome!

Getting to fly in a Warrior is a unique privilege. It is a real airplane, not one of those sissy high wing things you see bopping around the airport by the real-pilot-wannabes. Once you have flown a low wing, such as the Warrior, you will never want to get into a sissy high wing ever!! It takes a special breed to tame the Warrior but once you do you will be one of the best of the best!!

;)

BTW all of the above was basically bull spucky ;)

Have fun, all planes are good and fun to fly, even the sissy high wing ones :)

Welcome to POA, Justin! Looking forward to hearing all about your recollections of the sensations of First Flight.