New X-wind landing technique

Mtns2Skies

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Mtns2Skies
I'm in the process of doing my tailwheel transition in a 7KCAB Citabria. Rather than the typical rudder in and wing-low input for x-wind, The CFI had me do a no-rudder aileron turn to drop the upwind wing while in the flare. Because the turn was uncoordinated, the nose swung out and lined up with the runway and we touched down one wheel first, as a typical X-wind landing should.

Ever do this technique before? Would it work in typical training aircraft?

I think your Citabria is yawing away from the wind due to adverse yaw. (But... I have no experience in a Citabria.) Typical trike trainers are designed to be so docile that adverse yaw is almost undetectable. So I think your new technique is not generally transferrable to the training fleet....

-Skip

I'm in the process of doing my tailwheel transition in a 7KCAB Citabria. Rather than the typical rudder in and wing-low input for x-wind, The CFI had me do a no-rudder aileron turn to drop the upwind wing while in the flare. Because the turn was uncoordinated, the nose swung out and lined up with the runway and we touched down one wheel first, as a typical X-wind landing should.

Ever do this technique before? Would it work in typical training aircraft?
Never tried it....but how well it would work would depend on the airplane. Just guessing it probably wouldn't work as well with an airplane that has differential aileron travel to minimize the adverse yaw.

I've got a heap of instruction time in the 7 series, not sure I ever did that one, whatever lines her up before touch down works!

Like the others said, that might not work so well on a different plane, or with a different swinging prop, or a different x-wind.

The instructor is older than dirt, great guy, but he does notoriously have an "older" teaching style. Not bad but unique. I figure it will give me an interesting perspective.