New to Aviation. How do you Request permission to Takeoff/Land?

Natalie

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Natalie Ward
Hi, I'm very new to aviation. I've been wondering how to request permission to takeoff and land. Can anyone help me out?

At a non-toward airport you just take off and land. If you want you can make a radio call.

Add a towered airport you have to ask permission.

Non towered
Airplane one two three departing runway 17 Northwest departure

Towered
Airplane one two three holding short runway 17 VFR departure to the northwest

Then wait for Tower to say you are cleared for takeoff on runway 17

Get on the radio and tell the controller what you want to do, they will tell you what to do / correct you and you repeat it back. Then make sure you understand and follow the instruction, ask for clarification if you got confused and/or forgot. It happens! I’d hate to say one way is correct when everyone has their own version, never really heard two different people say the same thing.

I requested a touch and go the other day and on the go the controller called my tail number and said right turn on Bravo. I kind of shat my pants and said I thought this was touch and go, I’m on the go. He corrected and all was fine but I was like wah did I mess that up?

No matter the phraseology, what it all boils down to is who you are, where you are, what you want.

When I talk about flying my own plane to folks unfamiliar with aviating, 99% of the time they are absolutely aghast that most of the time I don't need anyone's permission to takeoff or land. They are even more surprised when I tell them I don't even need to talk to anyone when flying.

I then ask them if they need permission to drive their car to the next city. They say "no". They kinda get the concept after that, but not really.

No matter the phraseology, what it all boils down to is who you are, where you are, what you want.