New student, worried about prospects

oneflyguy

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
oneflyguy
Hey, everybody. I'm a new face here, looking for that little bit of advice that my Jeppesen books don't seem to cover...

As of the summer before last, I'm a new student to piloting, and I'm really enjoying it. Going in, I had the idea that I'd like to make a career of it. I've been getting lessons in edgewise when the availability of funds and instruction overlap... but it has been slow going. Now, nine hours and thirty-some landings into my logbook, I'm liking it more than ever.

But I'm worried.

I'm entering my second year of college at NC State University. Aerospace Engineering intent, and I think I can do it. I'm worried because being at college grinds my flight training to a halt. I've got a few books I can review, and I've hit them pretty hard, but I know they're no substitute for real practice.

Specifically, my Jeppeson private pilot manual suggests that aviators who want to make a living off it should consider attending flight schools or universities which specialize in this sort of instruction... and NCSU is nothing of the sort. Will grinding through a public college for the degree be any crippling blow to my (hopefully) career in aviation, granting that I wouldn't be able to afford future instruction at a dedicated flight school?

Well, aerospace engineering doesn't have a medical to lose, pays the bills decently, and has no mandatory retirement age. But it doesn't usually involve being PIC.

You have a decision to make. Aviation as an avocation among aerospace engineers is not rare.