new student pilot with some questions

Janel

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JIMK
I've just begun as a student pilot. I want to practice between lessons. I found on my second lesson that I spent most of my time re-doing the first lesson and that's no bueno. What's worked for you?

I also want my own headgear. But there are no shops nearby that I can go into to try on different models. When buying online, what are some key words / features I should be looking for?

Thanks!!

I did a lot of chair flying when I was a student. sat in a chair and went thru the motions. but a better way is in a simulator. does your school have one? best way is to fly more than once a week.

as for headgear...I'd advise buying something relatively inexpensively for three reasons. one, that's money that can go towards your lessons. two, and I'm being honest here, not every student completes the lessons and takes the oral and check ride. three, when you do pass the oral and check ride reward yourself with a better headset. your old one can then be used for a passenger.

good luck!

chair flying is great! I used the poster from Sporty's to practice with. It's free if you pay for shipping, check it out on their website. As far as headsets go I've only ever used Lightspeed, they are expensive but worth it. Sporty's has a 30 day money back guaranty on head sets as well.

I've just begun as a student pilot. I want to practice between lessons. I found on my second lesson that I spent most of my time re-doing the first lesson and that's no bueno. What's worked for you?

I also want my own headgear. But there are no shops nearby that I can go into to try on different models. When buying online, what are some key words / features I should be looking for?

Thanks!!