New student and motion sickness

joycem137

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Robin
Hello folks. I'm new to the site and thought I'd drop in and say hi, check the place out. Also thought I'd share a story and solicit advice while I'm here.

First of all, I'm a new student pilot. Started training a month ago and am at 20 hours now. My CFI thinks I'm doing pretty well and is talking about doing my first solo pretty soon, which has me pretty excited! I'm flying out of KPAO and just loving this stuff.

Anyways, story.

A couple weeks ago, we were heading out towards C83, and my CFI wanted us to do a bit of review before starting ground reference maneuvers. In rapid succession, we did slow flight, power off stall, power on stall, and steep turns. At the end of all that, I was starting to feel a bit queasy. Then we started doing S turns for ground reference maneuvers. Hoo boy.

Towards the end of the third set of turns, I suddenly felt really bad. Super nauseous, sweating, chilled, etc. I was suffering a really bad case of motion sickness. So I asked the CFI to fly us to the nearest airport while I tried to hold my breakfast in. It was all going fine, and we were ALMOST to the airport. But JUST as we were turning final to land, I finally lost it. Something about the turns in the pattern or something, I guess. And without a sick bag, I made a big mess all over myself. Fun. At least I pretty much kept the airplane clean, though.