Need advice (topic: buying a plane)

onwards

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
onwards
I have been exploring this for several months, because I am in this odd position of having the money to spend on one in what can very much be described as a buyer's market.

I wanted to educate myself some, and figure out what makes sense to buy, and so on. I think I am finally more or less settled on the idea of getting a "power-optioned" 172 - that is, a 172 but with a 180HP engine plus powerflow exhaust (for another 10-15HP or so) and bigger tanks (I found at least one option to add 7 gallons to each wing). Seems like this will give a reliable, fun plane that has a decent payload, range and fuel consumption. And on the occasion that I want something more, I can fly my club's 182 fixed or RG.

Having settled on this idea, I am also leaning towards modifying the plane post-purchase, as opposed to looking for the perfect one.

But now, as much as I am trying to further understand how this works and what the best way is to go about it, I am lost. There just doesn't seem to be enough info around what I'm trying to do, or at least I don't know how to search for it.

I wonder if you can give me some pointers. My main concern right now is trying to understand the conversion point. To wit:

If I am to go this route, are these 180HP conversions (I think I even saw a 195HP one? is that true?) basically an engine replacement, or a modification of the existing one? if the former, then it seems like it makes sense to buy a plane with an engine that is at end-of-life (2000+ hours). Is that correct? if the latter, is the conversion also considered an overhaul? I am really not sure I understand how this works.

In other words, do I actively look for a nice LOOKING plane with an engine that is ready to be overhauled?

Is this conversion something any mechanic can do?