Necessity of clearance into Class B

Maulrus

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Maulrus
Hi! I'm a student pilot flying out of New Orleans Lakefront (KNEW). Generally we fly a practice area east of the airport, which is partially under the outer layer of New Orleans Class B (though most of the flying is done beyond the 20 NM boundary). Every time we go out to the practice area with flight following, we get cleared into the Bravo airspace. However, we rarely fly higher than 3500 in the practice area, and the floor of the airspace is 4000. Assuming we never went above 4000, is it necessary to get cleared into the Class B? Flying VFR, do I even need to talk to New Orleans Departure?

I know this is a basic question, but it falls under the broad category of communications/airspace stuff that is still hazy to me. Thanks in advance for any help!

No, but you might as well accept the clearance should you inadvertantly bust it while doing airwork. Which, is probably why they gave you the clearance in the first place.

No, but you might as well accept the clearance should you inadvertantly bust it while doing airwork. Which, is probably why they gave you the clearance in the first place.

Okay, that makes sense. But I could, if I felt so inclined, go up there and buzz around underneath that airspace without saying a word to Departure, right (not that I'm planning to do so, of course)?

No, you don't. They made a cutout in KMSY's Class B for KNEW.
http://skyvector.com/?ll=30.042159615023188,-89.98654622744208&chart=118&zoom=3

(Okay, beat to the punch). And yes, you can fly around in the area with a 4000' base all you want as long as they don't think you went above 3999'. I'm based underneath O'Hare's Class B (3,600' shelf) and never get a VFR clearance into their airspace and only occasionally talk to them.

Last edited: