NA what to do with spare SSD?

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Let'sgoflying!, Dec 27, 2016.

  1. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    13,084
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    I just bought a computer I liked, off Newegg. Should be here next week.
    Part of their deal was a 120GB SSD thrown in.
    I like the idea of SSDs but would have no idea how to use it.
    I think it arrives in separate packaging, ie not installed in the computer.

    Could it be plugged in, and used in parallel to the HDD the computer comes with?
    Or can it be used instead of the HDD?
    If so, how would you get the OS onto it?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883795136
     
  2. rtk11

    rtk11 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Southern California
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rtk
    Yes, you can use the SSD in parallel with the magnetic disk drive that comes with your computer. Your power supply will likely have another plug that can power the SSD. You just need to ensure you have an extra data cable (looks like it might be SATA?) to plug into the SSD drive and the mother board.

    Plug in the SSD into your new desktop computer. It's going to be faster than the internal magnetic disk drive. You'll likely have to format your SSD once you plug it in, so you'll be booting off the original magnetic hard drive and running the format routine.

    Your computer will come with docs with a Windows registration number. Just download Windows 10 from Microsoft and install on the SSD. Input the registration number when asked. If you would prefer to clone the Windows installation from the original drive, you can use something like Acronis True-Image to clone the original hard drive.

    Once done, look for directions on how to make the SSD the primary, and the magnetic hard drive the slave. This will make the SSD your boot drive for faster performance, and use the magnetic hard drive your slave drive and put all your files on it.
     
    Let'sgoflying! and James331 like this.
  3. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,411
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Throttle
    Just to prevent any possible operational problems you should send the ssd to me.
     
    flhrci likes this.
  4. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    13,084
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    Sounds good. I use small chits of paper to keep track of these gifts. Just send me two pieces green of paper with the likeness of Ben Franklin on them and I will do so.
    :D
     
    Norman likes this.
  5. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,411
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Throttle
    Great! Address?
     
  6. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    13,084
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    I couldn't do that to you in view that they are going for <$50
     
  7. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,411
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Throttle
    I tried to post a picture of ol' Ben that I was going to print on green paper for you but failed miserably
     
  8. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,158
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    13,084
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    nonono, mine need that blue stripe!
     
  10. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,158
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    I suppose you want different serial numbered bills to? So much to ask!
     
  11. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,158
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    Ok, here's a whole sheet of them. When do I get the drive? Clark may not be deserving enough. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. John221us

    John221us En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    The right way to do it is to image (mirror) the mechanical drive (I assume) that comes with the computer to the new SSD and make the SSD your primary boot drive. This will greatly enhance the performance of your computer, especially on boot up. There is plenty of free software for imaging the drive.
     
    kgruber likes this.
  13. deonb

    deonb Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    641
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    deonb
    Don't even need to download any special software.

    Just run "Create a Recovery Drive" in Windows 10, which will copy everything to a removable > 16gb USB drive, then remove the magnetic drive and plug in the SSD and boot from the USB Recovery Drive to copy everything back to the SSD.
     
  14. John221us

    John221us En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    Yes, it can be done with the built in stuff, but there are a couple of more steps than that. You need to create the recovery drive, but you also need to create a system image. https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...ge-to-an/e20992ca-5641-4f7c-bb09-3895d0732162. I find it easier to just plug the new drive in and use imaging software to duplicate the drive and then just switch the boot drive. I think I used Macrium the last time, which is free and stand alone.
     
  15. kgruber

    kgruber En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,978
    Location:
    Eastern Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skywag
  16. simtech

    simtech Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    mississippi
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Simtech
    I built my CPU a few years ago. I got a SSD that I only have the operating system on. Then a have regular HD that I put everything else on and have it partitioned up. CPU starts up super fast!!