[NA] Oracle ADF anybody?

CJones

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
uHaveNoIdea
New project at work has me transitioning from PHP/Javascript to Oracle ADF for web development. I've been stumbling my way around jDeveloper for a few weeks now and it seems like this platform could really speed up the time to market for most projects since it doesn't require writing every single line of code as in PHP/Javascript. The big kicker is getting the data layer set up correctly out of the gate.

Anyone else here using ADF? Anything to keep my eye on as I slowly creep into the world of enterprise-level application development?

Oracle has a Tech Day coming up on ADF. They also have some prior training seminars available on TechNet, IIRC. I've watched some of the videos on it and have a book on it, but so far putting it under my pillow at night hasn't made mean expert on it. ;)

I'm an ADF developer. Whadaaya need to know? JDeveloper is chock full of bugs and sucks as an IDE. It's all the bloat you love with Java but NEW AND IMPROVED with all the bloat you've come to expect from Oracle added in for free. It's a different planet from PHP.

I've been doing ADF with ADFBC using Webcenter framework along with BPM and .. er .. ok the whole darn FMW stack for almost two years. I am shocked to see that other people are doing it too :eek:

We have found that there is a steep learning curve for adf bc in particular when transitioning from traditional jee or older (even Java based) web tech. The siren's song of the stack is that you get about 80% of the project done in 50% of the time and then suddenly you want to refresh a nontransactional region that contains a reference to a transactional edit region in a popup that appears when you double click a table row... ;)

Oracle's platform naming conventions embarrass me. 9i - "internet". 11g - "grid". 12c - "cloud".

:blush:

Don't know anything about it - but it most certainly sounds evil.