[NA]Flash workaround?[NA]

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
So many vids won't work on the ipad, especially youtube.
Is there no alternative to flashplayer? (reading suggests that is the problem)

I'm no iPad expert, but I think there should be a special YouTube app on the iPad that can play YouTube content.

As for Flash embedded in other Web sites, I think you're pretty much out of luck.

-Rich

even the app wont play a lot of music vids.

Just speculating here, but I suspect that may have to do with copyright issues. A lot of YouTube videos get blocked or have their audio tracks disabled if music is used without the copyright owner's consent.

Apparently, however, there's a way to get around that if a link to purchase the song (for example, from Amazon) is placed under the video. I don't know the details because I haven't uploaded anything to YouTube in years, but I do notice that a lot of videos with musical tracks have those links.

Also, some artists' "Official" channels also have links to purchase the music.

If I had to guess, and it would just be a guess, the YouTube player for iPad can't display those links (because they're in the site HTML, not the video itself), and therefore can't display those videos.

But that would just be a guess.

-Rich

Sorry Rich, forgot to mention all are playable on the laptop, just not on the ipad. Did a google on the problem and read all sorts of non-solutions.

There is no real solution, accept the black screen of death as Apples way of saying "You don't need to see that, we'll let you know what's ok."

There is a Browser that works with many flash websites. It is called Photon. It is a bit of a resource hog on the iPad 1 but it seems to work with everything I have used it on so far.

I wish it was free but it costs $4.99. I had a need to use it so I bought a copy. Had to do with school. :(

David