[NA]Craig's List[NA]

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
I have some things that are apparently best sold via this medium + I've never used it before. Familiar with ebay only.
Any insider tips on what to watch out for, how to best use?

Cash. Or another verifiable form of payment.

It's just old newspaper classified ads moved to an online database. People can type anything they want into the ads, replies, whatever... no repercussions.

Post what you have, use pictures (one benefit of it not being a newspaper) and await phone calls, just like the good ol' days.

If you are rural west Texas, then you can probably sniff out trouble and not worry about serial killers.

But if you are selling small, valuable items in an urban environment, meet prospective buyers in a public place with video cameras (Starbucks, McDonalds, etc.).

These are large, immovable objects worth a couple grand each. They are too far away for me to meet the buyer. I figure buyer goes, sees, if they like, I accept payment (what form?), arrange tfr of paperwork.
Why would a buyer trust me with their $$?

These are large, immovable objects worth a couple grand each. They are too far away for me to meet the buyer. I figure buyer goes, sees, if they like, I accept payment (what form?), arrange tfr of paperwork.
Why would a buyer trust me with their $$?

CASH! Give him a bill of sale. You could use a REPUTABLE escrow service if you're never going to meet the buyer face to face. Paypal might be an option too, since that gives the buyer some leverage, but you're going to pay for either of these services.

Craigslist is a local, cash venue. Works great for that. I've sold cars and a few other things through it. Long distance, not so much.

How will I get cash from someone I will never meet unless we use escrow? I suspect the users of this product will not be familiar with wire transfers or paypal.