[NA]Computer monitors[NA]

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Let'sgoflying!, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,762
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
  2. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,273
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Generally, any of today's monitors should fit just about any of today's computers....

    The main differences of quality and price originate as to the primary use. Gaming monitors, you want a high refresh rate. Commercial graphics, the ability to represent the colors correctly.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  3. John221us

    John221us En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4,156
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    It doesn't look like that one is available anymore. The biggest issue with it is that it is only 17". Nobody is buying 17" monitors anymore. It does have a digital input (DVI), but does not have HDMI (not really a problem, with an adapter). It will probably work fine for you, if you can live with the size. Most new monitors are 1920 x 1080 (so they can play movies).
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  4. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,273
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    But the ones you mentioned, sub $50 makes sense for an outmode design of small and square.
     
  5. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,273
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Dave, if you need some monitors, I have some unopened 19" Dells that I can make a good deal on.

    Years ago, I purchased some workstations that had the monitor sent as the freebie. But I didn't use them because the plan from start was 23"-ers.
     
  6. Norman

    Norman En-Route Gone West

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4,861
    Location:
    cone of confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KPTK
    In March of this year, at the suggestion of the IT experts here, I bought a 'refurb' HP. Win 7 Pro 64 bit with eight gig of ram to replace my ten year old consumer grade HP. The new one was designed to be a work station. As Bryan [with a Y] said most are brand new overstock and I got one of those. Not a single scratch on the case. Booted it up and connected with an HP monitor that is ten years old. The cordless keyboard fit right in and everything worked on the first try with no hassle. I couldn't have asked for better. Monitor is a ten year old HP 22 and still as clear as my 77 year old eyes need it to be. Old wireless keyboard is still going strong. Did I screw up somewhere? Some days I do luck out. Old mponitor is 22 in on the diagonal.

    I have no intention to upgrading to Win 10 and letting Microsoft track my every move. Screw them.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  7. Justin M

    Justin M Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    312
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JM
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  8. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15,762
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
  9. CMongoose

    CMongoose Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    275
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CMongoose
    That's quite old at this point, and the resolution is lower than most of what you would expect in current generation screens. Can't see what the price was, but I recently bought a 23" Acer monitor that was discounted for the week in Best Buy for ~$90.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  10. dmspilot

    dmspilot En-Route

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,904
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    dmspilot
    Looks like it's probably about a decade old model. But compatibility is not much of a concern with monitors. The model you linked to has both DVI and D-Sub (digital and analog, respectively) connections so should work with almost anything. Even if it did not have the right connections, convertors are easily found.
     
  11. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,273
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    I have Acer 24" very thin monitors at my desk at work. Love them!