N/A Military Gens N/A

Jim Rosenow

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Jim Rosenow
I'm researching ex-military diesel generators to replace the current gas back-up gen for the house. The relevant choices seem to be either a MEP802A ( 2-cylinder 5KW) or MEP803A (4-cylinder 10KW). The specs for both say they will burn JP8 which is equivalent to Jet-A, according to reading I have done. I have no experience with either gen unit.

The 5KW would probably do everything I need, but I had a guy (who has a 10KW for sale) tell me that the 2 cylinders on the smaller unit actually produce more noise and vibration than the 4 cylinder 10KW unit, and the fuel consumption is about the same for the same load.

Anybody have any relevant experience or knowledge? Thanks!

Jim

PS- Oh...wait...disregard the N/A! We'll take the old gen to the hangar, which has the four-pronged outlet, and raise/lower the door if/when the power is out. Tada...aviation-related!

Last edited:
My experience is only using them for many years but not having to do the maintenance...yes they use the Army’s universal fuel and Jet A is the equivalent...anyway in general as long as they were services and run on a regular basis there fine...have them sit a month or two they have problems starting and running...longer and your asking for even more issues...not much different that most machines...they are not quiet by any standards

Never maintained an 802 or 803, used them extensively in my military career.

Reliable, loud enough that it’s noticeable. When running it for extended periods (think week+ continuous), you need to have a load on it as they can wet stack, despite what you read.

They aren’t nearly as bad about wet stacking as their predecessors, but it can occur. When we planned our power, there was always a load bank required on at least one gen circuit.

But, I’ve seen the same 802s last several deployments as continuous power, with only scheduled PMI/PMCS.