N/A Chemincal Engineer Graduation

markb5900

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Mark B
Figure there is at least a couple out there in POA land.

My Daughter-in-law graduates Friday with her BS in Chemical Engineering and have NO clue what to get her that would be relevant.
That stuff is way over my head. LOL

Have asked her and all I get is "I don't know" so looking for some ideas.

Membership in the American Chemical Society (or AIChE)?

Does she have a job lined up? If not, maybe pay for (or contribute to) a trip to the ACS meeting in August- they always have a job fair. It's in Philadelphia this time.

A nice card and $$$ will almost always be relevant...

Blasting caps and det-cord :rofl:

If she has to go interviewing, get her a 10-pack of club-passes for whatever main airline she uses. Or donate a bunch miles to her account if you have any. Makes all the difference if you can upgrade to business.

Last edited:
I am a recovering chemical engineer, every single one I met in college was a pyromaniac.

Wouldn't that be "over-enthusiastic about exothermic reactions" in today's gentlespeak?

We shared a building with the chemEs and I thought they were just a little too enamored with physical chemistry...

Did you pay for your daughters college?

May she should get you a card...

j/k Congrats on the daughter's graduation!

Actually, the OP should be hugely proud. A couple years ago I met the woman Chemical Engineering student here. The OP's daughter-in-law is a real trailblazer. Women have done very well in every field of endeavor except hard science and engineering. Having a woman Chem E in the family is both unusual and something of which to be proud.

I think she'll do well, and tell her congratulations!

Probably a card and a nice family dinner to celebrate would be nice.

--
--

PS - if you do think of a nice gift idea, let me know. My daughter graduates engineering school next year!