My Mini Adventure (Long)

AdamZ

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Adam Zucker
I had been planning a trip to visit my Wife's brother and his family in Cape Cod for a little over two months now. This was a pretty big trip for me. Although I have been flying for almost three years and have my IR for about a year I am still a bit of a nervous pilot. I mostly fly with other pilot friends and CFI friends mainly because we are friends and I enjoy flying with them. My wife while a good flyer has no passion for flying and dosen't really care to fly unless we are going to a "Destination". So It is not to often I get to fly with my family thereby making me the only pilot on board.
So here I am planning this flight for Saturday the 28th and all week I'm looking at the weather and I must say it was frustrating the hell out of me. I planned every detail and for every contingency. I know from KLOM in the Philly area ATC will either route you east over Long Island or West then North over the Lake Henry VOR and then east. So I plotted out both route for fuel consumption. I was hoping for the easterly route on V433 over La Guardia then slicing up LI sound to Bridgeport and on along the coast to Providence and then HOPTU and D-> KPVC. I mean if you look at it this route make the most sense. I'd almost be direct and at 7000 I'd be out of everyone's way. Guess again!