My long cross country for 1st solo

I was an instructor back then, and remember all the problems we had with those comparatively long XC's, particularly with weather and daylight, especially in 85-knot training planes with 24-gallon fuel tanks which turned those XC's into all-day adventures. Those problems were what drove the FAA to cut the requirements back to what they are now. Instructors whose experience doesn't include those events may feel otherwise, but those experiences are what drive my thinking on the subject.
I agree that the three 100 mile legs did turn it into an all-day affair for which you needed pretty good weather. I think it was overkill as a requirement. However, I don't think there's anything wrong if a student wants to try it and the CFI agrees.

OTOH, I think cutting the solo experience requirement from 20 to 10 and the solo XC experience requirement from 10 to 5 were really bad ideas.
We are in complete agreement about this.

I agree that the three 100 mile legs did turn it into an all-day affair for which you needed pretty good weather. I think it was overkill as a requirement. However, I don't think there's anything wrong if a student wants to try it and the CFI agrees.

Exactly -- let the CFI working with the student, familiar with the airplane and the local weather and airports make the decision

I dunno. Not a CFI, did the 50nm cross country legs. I think I flew somewhere to get the airplane fixed. Soon as I got my ticket, I was flying all over the place, even in a little 80 knot trainer.

I think the biggest plus of 100+ legs (150nm was one of my first legs for a long XC) is different because on a 50nm leg, if you climb pretty much above 5kfeet you'll spend half the trip climbing half descending. with a long leg, you can experience higher altitudes, smoother air (depending), and more importantly, different air. it's different breathing, it's different traffic, different visibility.