Display Name

Display name:
Senior AME/ATC AME
First Class Medical Question - DUI
Inbox

to lbfjrmd
cleardot.gif

Dr. Fowler,

I am in the process of trying to obtain an FAA Class I medical; I have a unique situation and I am seeking your guidance and professional opinion on how to move forward.

Thirteen years ago, when I was a student at X, I was stopped by the City of X Police in September 2006 and charged with the following:

1. Driving Under the Influence
  2. Driving Under the Influence – Less Safe
  3. Reckless Driving
  4. Speeding
  5. Failure to Maintain Lane
  6. New Resident 30 day/Driving without a License
At the time of the arrest, I was 60 days away from graduation and commissioning in the U.S. Navy. The DUI charges were dropped and I pled guilty to the remaining charges. My punishment would have been probation, but since I was graduating and commissioning, I chose to serve 30 days in jail instead because I would not have been able to commission with the U.S. Navy if I was on any sort of civil restraint or probation. In April of 2007, I had successfully completed all terms of the court order and was allowed to commission with the US Navy. Court order outlined below:

1. Guilty: Reckless Driving, Speeding, Failure to Maintain Lane, New Resident 30 day/Driving without a License
  2. $6,012 in fines
  3. Attend a DUI risk reduction course licensed by the State of Georgia
  4. Complete 200 hrs of community service
  5. Serve 30 days in jail
  6. Attend 1 MADD panel
Since this incident in 2006, I have had no other alcohol related incidents. In September of 2007, I applied for an FAA Class III medical as part of the U.S. Navy’s Introductory Flight Screening (IFS). At the time, the question on the form asked if I had ever been found guilty of a DUI. The answer was “no” based on the information I provided to you above. I proceeded through flight training and have not needed an FAA medical since.