MVFR First Dual Cross Country - today at 4pm

texasclouds

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Mark
We have a flight lesson scheduled today at 4pm central time / 2100Z. First dual cross country. CFI wants me to practice decision making. I called 800WXBrief for our direct flight KCLL to K3T5 (~51 mi, 30 min, C-172SP).

Current conditions at 1pm: CLL BKN 4400', 3T5 OVC 1500' (temp, wind, precipitation, visibility look fine to me). Very near CLL the cloud level is much lower (1600' at Coulter Field CFD).

Conditions at 4pm are expected to improve to 2500-4000' cloud level.

The WXBrief guy was very helpful when I told him I was a student pilot. He suggested I call back around 3pm to get updated briefing.

I believe my CFI will want us to be able to fly at 3000', so clouds need to go up to 3500'+. I'm thinking no-go unless clouds go to 3500' at each airport and in route.

What do you guys think?

wx.JPG

this is an awesome opportunity. unless there is icing, go for it.then you will know what not to get into when you get your cert/license (whatever its called this week)

this is an awesome opportunity. unless there is icing, go for it.then you will know what not to get into when you get your cert/license (whatever its called this week)

Go for it with what cloud level? Surely not if they stay at 1500'.

Go for it with what cloud level? Surely not if they stay at 1500'.
if the CFI is a II, then yes, file IFR. if the CFI is just a I, then well, its up to the CFI, but i would want my CFI to take me up in MVFR conditions and show me first hand when to turn around if we cant make it to destination. my my CFI actually did that, more than once.

Good question, I assume 3000' MSL. If clouds were not an issue, I think we would be planning for 4500' MSL.

Field elevations are 321', 324' MSL.