MSFS2020 Disappointment thread

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Mtns2Skies, Aug 25, 2020.

  1. Jeff Oslick

    Jeff Oslick En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jeff Oslick
    For those of you who feel MSFS or X-Plane are worthless or worse-than-worthless for primary training, what was your exposure to these flight sims before you started your training for private?

    I started using the SubLOGIC flight sim as a young kid, and continued using it through my private (1995) and instrument (2002) training. It is a procedures trainer. It teaches you the basics of flight control. It teaches you navigation. That it doesn't simulate stall and spins correctly is inconsequential. No non-motion simulator could ever due an adequate job of simulating those sensations.

    For that matter, even primary training does a very limited job of teaching stall and spin behavior. You're up there in a 172, just you and instructor and forward CG, but the plane will respond quite differently at max gross weight near the aft CG limit.
     
    Sierra_Hotel likes this.
  2. sarangan

    sarangan Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Andrew Sarangan, CFII
    I've spent more hours than I can count on the sublogic flight simulators from late 80's. Its great because you really have to use your imagination to picture the scenery around you :) Who needs 4K resolution when your mind has a much higher resolution?
     
  3. nauga

    nauga Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,505
    Location:
    Rockwood Storage Facility
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mantis Toboggan, MD
    *You* did, but I haven't seen where *they* did.

    Nauga,
    and his rotary balance
     
  4. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    54,069
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Was part of their early marketing materiel.

    But... I should also know better. Ha.

    Yay marketing wank! :)
     
  5. hish747

    hish747 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Skylark Airpark
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hish747
    Dude, you are singing my song! I started with SubLOGIC Flight Assignment ATP, moved onto FS98, Sierra ProPilot and then X-Plane. (I'm actually responsible for the timer in the aircraft) I was hopeful for FS2020 but they made testers pay for an Alpha product and I'm ambivalent about that.

    Back to the point, these sims are invaluable as familiarization tools and procedures trainers. My first formal private lesson, I was able to land the plane and the instructor looked at me sideways and said "Hish, are you with the FAA?" That had me beaming even if he was just blowing smoke. But I'd say yah, those flight sims were huge in my early days of learning flying. One more thing...FS2020 is atrocious.
    Hish
     
  6. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    Huh?
     
  7. bflynn

    bflynn Final Approach

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,232
    Location:
    KRDU
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian Flynn
    So, I have not given up on FS2020.

    This evening I figured out where to find the FSX simconnect files and installed them. FS2020 will use those for most things, but it doesn't appear it otherwise has a working version of simconnect. Or maybe it does, but the bridge program I needed required a specific version of simconnect, which isn't the FS2020 version. I downloaded from this site, I have no responsibility for what you do. http://www.fspassengers.com/?action=simconnect Once installed, you have FSX simconnect. If you previously had FSX with simconnect installed, then you're probably using that version and it appears it has always worked.

    As a result of that, I was able to get my Simionic G1000 PFD/MFD bezels up and running too. There's issues still, but it's better. The AP run by Simionic is funky and wobbles either up/down or rolls left right a degree or two every second, it's pretty uncomfortable to watch, but they're working on it. The AP also has a big pitch issue. I didn't catch it, but something in the AP reset the trim to very nose high so that when I disengaged it, the airplane stalled.

    Growing pains, it still works on XPlane and works much better there.
     
  8. Ryan A

    Ryan A Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    austinrc
    I used P3D/X-Plane for 7 years before getting my PPL this July, and I absolutely attribute the fact that I got my license right at 40 hours to all that simulator work over the years.

    VATSIM played a big role too, communications wise.
     
    Rein Hart likes this.
  9. sarangan

    sarangan Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Andrew Sarangan, CFII
    I see all sorts of unnatural structures in FS2020. This image is taken close to the Sporty's airport (Batavia, OH). You can see mesa structures like in the desert southwest, except these have trees growing along the side walls. Very bizarre. Obviously, no such thing really exists in this part of Ohio.

    I69 (1).png
     
  10. bflynn

    bflynn Final Approach

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,232
    Location:
    KRDU
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian Flynn
    Oh - and I lucked into a 1.2m score landing at Courcheval, which I think is pretty good given the difficulty in getting the sim to act the way an airplane would (0 throttle / nose up => 20k climb and increasing airspeed? In a Robin?)
     
    woodchucker and Tantalum like this.
  11. TipTanks

    TipTanks Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    TipTanks
    Those scenery bugs will be worked out. There is AI that determines height, and what things look like. Globally, there are issues!
     
  12. Crashnburn

    Crashnburn Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    Sunnyvale CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Crashnburn
    Thanks for all the commentary on the new M$ Flight Simulator. Even though it's M$2020, I just can't clearly see ;) buying and installing it any time soon.

    As it is, I'm mostly finishing rebuilding my PC after crashing it up trying to overclock a new set of memory so I could have an overkill amount of level 1 cache to use with my copy of PrimoCache! I think, when I have some free time, I can start installing FSX:SE, then all the 3rd party add-ons I've accumulated over the years.

    BTW, I bumped the memory voltage up a bit, and it runs fine, slightly over-clocked, now.
     
  13. Jim K

    Jim K Line Up and Wait PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    CMI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim
    Read an article today that the next update is expected in the next couple days and is supposed to address complaints about ATC as well as GA avionics among other things.
     
  14. woodchucker

    woodchucker Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,480
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    woodchucker
    For further disappointment, the Honeycomb yoke is backordered. Amazon has the prices jacked to $450+ but Sporties and others still have them for $250ish but backordered through at least October. I’m waiting also for that timeframe for the 3080 gpu.

    I hate the control setup in MSFS 2020. It’s annoying guesswork to figure out which axis will work with what.

    Also, is there a way to reduce the upper end sensitivity setting? Xplane lets you drag the top range up and down but I’m not seeing that in 2020.
     
  15. bflynn

    bflynn Final Approach

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,232
    Location:
    KRDU
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian Flynn
    Those $450 prices are eBay pirates.

    I have read of a bug with brake pedals treating the midpoint as neutral, but no other control issues. To calibrate, you need to use an external program to press the pedals down to the halfway point, then calibrate them in FS2020. That would explain why I cannot stop in a 172
     
  16. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    The flight sim control market is truly insane right now. Thankfully I was able to get in on the presale for the Honeycomb Bravo throttle. I’ve been wanting to upgrade my X52 stick and throttle to a Warthog as well but not right now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2020
  17. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    I thought about getting in on that Bravo presales, too. However, I decided I'd wait until MSFS2020 has released a few updates and such. No point in letting the Bravo sit around unused like my Alpha at the moment, although I guess I could fire up FSX. I figure it'll give Honeycomb users a chance to discover any flaws in the next few months as well. If the Charlie pedals are anything like the Alpha/Bravo components, I'll probably end up with the trifecta.
     
  18. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    I have a solid xplane setup for IFR practice so I’ll still get use out of it until MSFS catches up. Has any info on the pedals been released?
     
    David Megginson likes this.
  19. SoonerAviator

    SoonerAviator Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoonerAviator
    Not that I've seen. I think they were supposed to be announcing the Charlie line back at the FlightSim Expo in April but obviously that got nixed. They were reportedly supposed to come out Q1 2021 if that timeline still holds. Remains to be seen what the pricing will be ($250 seems to be a theme), but I'd guess the Thrustmater TPR is the closest competition.
     
    Sierra_Hotel likes this.
  20. flhrci

    flhrci Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,765
    Location:
    Groveport, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
  21. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
  22. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    54,069
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Seems like that should be a product airway.
     
    Tantalum likes this.
  23. F01LA

    F01LA Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    5446
    Has anyone stuck with it and been "less disappointed"? Are things getting any better?
     
  24. OkieAviator

    OkieAviator Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,780
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    OkieAviator
    I played it yesterday. Flew a carbon cub in icy weather.... game is good fun.
     
  25. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    They seem to be making a lot of headway with the updates. I'm still waiting a little longer till all of my hardware works correctly.
     
  26. Deelee

    Deelee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    607
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Deelee
    Still waiting for them to support VR. For now, I will stick with my trusty X-Plane 11.50. One of the guys from VFlyteAir (X-Plane payware designer) even designed a livery that pretty much matches the paint on the Arrow. So on days like today when I can't fly and have done all the IR practical studying I can possibly do... nothing better than firing up the sim and flying holds and approaches in VR. Oh, the Honeycomb stuff people are talking about is legit. I have the Yoke with the TQ on pre-order. Yoke, throttle and pedals with VR for everything else = wow.
     
  27. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    I'm waiting on my Bravo throttle, too. VR was just too clunky when I tried it with my Rift and having to use the hand controllers to manipulate anything in the cockpit. At least with the Brave more things will be where they're supposed to be, still not sure what to do about tuning radios/flipping switches, etc. Until there is a decent solution for that it's still not really any kind of training tool.
     
  28. Deelee

    Deelee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    607
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Deelee
    It's definitely not good for training in the classic sense of how people use BATD/AATDsfor training - it's not official and you can't log it for sure. But it is sort of like chair flying... but where you can see approach plates (I use something called Avitab with approach plates/charts in VR) and have simulated instruments that react to what you do with the yoke, throttle and pedals. And the Arrow I use in X-Plane happens to have an Aspen and 430w just like in our real Arrow. It is surprisingly close to the real deal.
     
  29. smv

    smv Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    1,663
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    smv
    I got the chance to fly UND's VR sim at the Symposium this year. What an experience! With very realistic force-feedback controls and a realistic flight model, it actually felt like a full-motion sim even though it was not moving at all. To the point where when I went to land and stalled a foot or so too high I actually tensed up in anticipation of the smack. :D

    If they can crack the code on switches and knobs (the wand and projected hand just does not cut the mustard) they will really have something there.
     
  30. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    Any chance you know what flight controls they were using? I wasn't aware of anyone producing force feedback controls these days.
     
  31. Sierra_Hotel

    Sierra_Hotel Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    425
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Sierra_Hotel
    Right, I didn't mean to imply on the level of an ATD, just meaningful practice. I can do that with Xplane, my radio stack, and PilotEdge right now to an extent. Once everything works just as well in MSFS I'll move over to it, and hopefully once they get VR functional it will be at the level I'd like.
     
  32. JonH

    JonH Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    San Diego
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JonH
    I haven't flown a real airplane in almost a year. I have some electronic courses to keep my ground sharp. Out of desperation to 'fly' something that isn't remote controlled, I decided to try FS2020 again. I originally downloaded it with a $1 game pass for one month. That expired so I had to pay $60 to play it this time. I hate to say it but it was worse than my original experience.

    First the game wouldn't start. I had to reinstall it. I get into the menu and accidentally hit the mode button on my gamepad, game locks up. It's worth it I tell myself. Fire the sim back up, pick out a scenario I would fly in real life. Spawn on the runway, engines running ready to go. Can't release parking brake. Great.... On to the controller options where everything looks normal. Reassign parking brake control. Back to runway. Still no turning off parking brake. Reduce myself to using the stock keyboard command to turn off parking brake. Nope, that's not working either.

    Restart computer and sim. Parking brake can now be turned off, let's do this! No pre-flight, so of course I wouldn't notice any other messed up controls. Full power, rudder is ailerons and throttle is elevator. Back into the menu we go, where everything looks normal. Reassign every control I have assigned. Back to the runway, OMG it works, finally... yes!

    No. Couple minutes later crash to the desktop, no error logged. Fire up X-Plane 11, maxed out graphics settings, in VR using a Rift S and same gamepad. Zero issues, except the ground looks like a polished turd.
     
  33. David Megginson

    David Megginson Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    639
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canuck
    The ones with decent flight models, like X-Plane and FlightGear, are getting better for low-altitude VFR pilotage with the integration of OpenStreetMap data, right down to individual houses (if your graphics card can handle it).
     
  34. smv

    smv Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    1,663
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    smv
    No idea. I think they built it from scratch.
     
    Sierra_Hotel likes this.
  35. David Megginson

    David Megginson Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    639
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canuck
    It's a really hard problem. I don't think any of the flight models in commercial sims calculate control loads directly, so you'd need custom code trying to infer the loads from other factors so that you could send the correct inputs to the physical device, and you would probably have to do that customisation on an aircraft-by-aircraft basis. There's a reason the real sims the airlines use cost so many $$$.
     
    Sierra_Hotel likes this.
  36. David Megginson

    David Megginson Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    639
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Canuck
    Aside from the trees growing up the sides of the buildings :) that doesn't really look any different than an X-Plane screenshot. I thought the visuals in the new MSFS were a giant leap forward. Or perhaps it's just because you had the graphics settings turned down low (?)